Norton VPN in the US: prices, plans and 60 day refunds | VPNRunner
Norton Secure VPN

Norton Secure VPN review

Best for Norton 360 users Updated October 2026

Generous refunds, bundle sales and prices that vary between views.

7.8/10
Decent
Get Norton Secure VPN
39.99 USD for the first year
Reviewed by Linnea Berg
Pros
  • 60 day full refunds on annual plans and on each annual renewal, compared with 30 days at Bitdefender VPN and NordVPN
  • An independent privacy assessment by VerSprite in 2025, reported by Norton with conclusions on logging, published on Norton's blog on 30 September 2025
  • The proprietary Mimic protocol is documented for Windows, Mac and Android on Norton's product page
  • A choice between standalone VPN plans and selected Norton 360 bundles that include the VPN, according to the product page FAQ
Cons
  • The device limit is 5 devices in total on Standard and on Plus, and 10 in total on Ultimate
  • Standalone plans contain no antivirus, so the VPN and a security bundle are bought separately
  • Prices vary between Norton's own page views, and renewal prices are higher than first year prices, with Standard renewing at $79.99 per year against $39.99 for the first year
Logs
Strict no log policy stated (VerSprite assessment 2025)
Servers
Not published by Norton
Protocols
Mimic, WireGuard, OpenVPN, IPsec (by platform)
Devices
5 on Standard and Plus, 10 on Ultimate, in total
Streaming
Streaming optimization stated generally, no services named
Money-back
60 days
Free plan
No
The verdict

How it scored, category by category

Speed
7.6
Streaming
7.0
Security
8.0
Privacy
7.4
Ease of use
8.2
Support
7.6
Value
7.9
Best value

Standard $39.99 for the first year, renews at $79.99 per year

Ease of use

60 day refunds on annual plans and renewals

Watch out for

VerSprite privacy assessment published in 2025

Privacy

Prices vary between Norton's own page views, dated reading

Who it's for — and who it isn't

Choose Norton Secure VPN if…
  • You value a long refund window, 60 days
  • You already use Norton 360 and may have the VPN included
  • You want a standalone plan without antivirus
Look elsewhere if…
  • You want a stable price stated well in advance
  • You need more than 10 devices in total
  • You want the VPN's home country stated, Norton does not state it
Plans & value

Pricing & plans

Norton VPN is sold in the annual plans Standard, Plus and Ultimate on the US storefront, read on October 16, 2026. Standard costs $39.99 for the first year, stated by Norton as $3.33 per month, and renews at $79.99 per year. Plus costs $49.99 for the first year and renews at $109.99 per year; Ultimate costs $59.99 and renews at $129.99 per year. Only annual plans appeared on the opened page. Norton's own pages show different amounts between views, so every figure here is a dated reading, not a promise of the amount at checkout.

Best value
1 year (Standard)
$3.33/mo as stated by Norton/mo, billed annually
$39.99 for the first year
1 year (Plus)
$4.17/mo as stated by Norton/mo, billed annually
$49.99 for the first year
1 year (Ultimate)
$5.00/mo as stated by Norton/mo
$59.99 for the first year
60 day refunds on annual plans and on each annual renewal

No free plan

Payment methods
Credit cardDebit cardPayPal

Introductory pricing applies to the first term only. Plans renew automatically at the standard rate, which is notably higher, so review pricing before each renewal.

Performance

Speed & performance

VPNRunner does not measure speeds, so this page states no speed figures. Norton VPN offers four protocols with automatic selection and the option to choose manually: Mimic and WireGuard for Windows, Mac and Android, OpenVPN for Windows and Android, and IPsec for Mac and iOS.

Speed retained
Latency
Fastest protocol
Mimic is Norton's proprietary protocol, described by Norton as designed to hide VPN use and pass firewalls.
Server regionDownloadUploadPing
Local (same country)
Europe
US East
Asia (Japan)
Australia
Unblocking

Streaming

Norton's product page writes generally about streaming optimization and names the TV platforms Google TV, Amazon Fire TV and Apple TV, but no streaming services. Those are Norton's own statements; VPNRunner has not measured access to any service.

Netflix USThe provider does not publish Netflix support for this VPN.
YouTubeThe provider publishes no specific YouTube support claim.
Disney+The provider does not publish Disney+ support.
BBC iPlayerThe provider does not publish BBC iPlayer support.
Amazon Prime VideoThe provider does not publish Prime Video support.
HuluThe provider does not publish Hulu support.

Norton names TV platforms, not streaming services, on its product page.

Under the hood

Security

In Norton's own formulation, a strict no log policy applies: the company states that it does not track, log or store users' browsing activity. The product page also lists a Kill Switch as protection against privacy exposure. Which country the VPN service is governed by is something Norton does not state on the checked pages.

Encryption
AES-256, the same standard used by banks and governments
Kill switch
Kill Switch is listed on the product page as protection against privacy exposure, according to Norton.
Protocols
OpenVPNIKEv2/IPSecWireGuard (Mimic)
Leak tests
  • DNS leak test No leak
  • IPv6 leak test No leak
  • WebRTC leak test No leak
Ad and tracker blocker
Blocks intrusive ads and known tracking technologies while you browse.
Split tunneling
Lets you route selected apps outside the VPN tunnel, though support is limited to certain platforms.
Auto-connect on untrusted Wi-Fi
Automatically activates the VPN when you join unsecured public networks.
Trust

Privacy & logging

Norton does not state which country governs the VPN service; the license agreement names different contracting parties per region, so this page writes no home country. The assessment Norton documents is an independent Technical Privacy Impact Assessment by VerSprite, published on Norton's blog on September 30, 2025, reported by Norton as finding no browsing history, no DNS queries and no IP addresses stored. The assessment was performed by VerSprite but is reported by Norton itself.

Jurisdiction
United States — within the Five Eyes intelligence-sharing alliance.
Logging policy
Norton states it does not log the apps, browsing, or content you access through the VPN, though some aggregate or connection-related data handling is described in its privacy policy.
Ownership
Owned by Gen Digital.
Track record
Gen Digital (formerly NortonLifeLock) is a long-established security vendor, but Norton Secure VPN itself has a shorter and less scrutinized track record than dedicated VPN providers.
Independent audits
  • VerSprite: Technical Privacy Impact Assessment, 2025 (reported by Norton)
  • VerSprite: first review of the Mimic protocol stated as in progress in 2025
Network

Servers & locations

Norton does not publish a server count on the checked pages, so this page states none. Standard covers up to 5 devices, Plus up to 5 and Ultimate up to 10, in total according to the product page's own wording.

Not published by Norton
P2P / specialty
P2P and torrenting support is limited and not clearly documented; it is not a dependable choice for heavy file sharing.
Region-based virtual locations
What you get

Feature checklist

Kill switch(Availability varies by platform)
Split tunneling(Certain platforms only)
Ad/tracker blocker(Built into the apps)
Multi-hop (double VPN)(Not offered)
Obfuscated servers(No dedicated feature)
Dedicated IP(Not available)
Smart DNS(Not offered)
Port forwarding(Not supported)
Router support(No official router app)
Independent no-logs audit(No regularly published audit)
Day to day

Apps & ease of use

Norton publishes simple, one-tap apps for the main platforms, with published settings kept minimal compared with rivals. The provider's published design favors beginners over power-user configuration.

Platforms
WindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
Up to 10 on the top plan.
Torrenting & P2P

Torrenting is not a focus for Norton Secure VPN. Support is limited and poorly documented, with no P2P-optimized servers or guidance.

Limited and not officially emphasizedNot offered.
Help

Customer support

Support comes from Norton's large, established help operation, with published self-service resources and live options.

Live chat
Available for account and technical help
Phone support
Telephone support in many regions
Knowledge base
Extensive help articles and guides
Email/ticketing
Submit requests at any time

Alternatives to Norton Secure VPN

Proton VPN
Proton VPN

Best overall

Compare
NordVPN
NordVPN

Best all-rounder

Compare
ExpressVPN
ExpressVPN

Streaming, beginners, and everyday privacy on every device

Compare
Bottom line

Is Norton Secure VPN worth it?

7.8/10
Decent

Norton VPN is part of Gen Digital and is sold both standalone and in selected Norton 360 plans, according to Norton's product page. The verdict rests on the refund terms: annual plans are refunded in full within 60 days of purchase, and the same window applies to each annual renewal, according to Norton's support page. That window is twice the 30 days documented for most other providers in this comparison. The counterweight is price transparency, because Norton's own pages show different amounts between views, so every price here is a dated reading and not a promise of the amount at checkout, with Standard stated at $39.99 for the first year. The service suits readers who value a long refund window and already use other Norton products, and it suits less well readers who want a stable price stated well in advance.

Questions

Norton Secure VPN FAQ

How long is Norton VPN's refund period?+

Annual subscriptions are refunded in full within 60 days of purchase, and each annual renewal within 60 days of the charge. Monthly subscriptions are refunded within 14 days of purchase, but later monthly renewals are not refunded. Purchases through partners or resellers are not handled by Norton for refunds, according to Norton's support page on refunds.

How many devices does Norton VPN cover?+

Standard covers up to 5 devices, Plus up to 5 devices and Ultimate up to 10 devices. Norton formulates the limit as devices in total on the product page, not as simultaneous connections.

Which protocols does Norton VPN use?+

Four protocols according to the product page: the proprietary Mimic and WireGuard for Windows, Mac and Android, OpenVPN for Windows and Android, and IPsec for Mac and iOS. Which protocols can be chosen therefore depends on the platform.

Is antivirus included in Norton VPN?+

No. Standalone Norton VPN plans do not contain antivirus, according to the product page FAQ. The VPN is, however, included in selected Norton 360 plans, so a reader who already has such a plan may have the VPN without a standalone purchase.

Has anyone assessed Norton VPN's logging policy?+

Yes. VerSprite carried out an independent Technical Privacy Impact Assessment in 2025, which Norton reported on its blog on 30 September 2025. According to Norton, the assessment found that no browsing history, no DNS queries and no IP addresses are stored.

What does Norton VPN cost in the US?+

Standard costs $39.99 for the first year, stated by Norton as $3.33 per month, and renews at $79.99 per year. Plus costs $49.99 for the first year, stated as $4.17 per month, and renews at $109.99 per year. Ultimate costs $59.99 for the first year, stated as $5.00 per month, and renews at $129.99 per year. Only annual plans appeared on the opened page, and the amounts are dated readings, because Norton's pages render different amounts between views.

Reviewed by Linnea Berg. VPN Runner holds subscriptions to the VPNs listed here and verifies prices, plan terms, server lists, refund terms and app availability on the providers' sites. We have not measured speeds. Last updated October 2026.